Curiouser and Curiouser

They say that curiosity killed the cat, but I believe curiosity drives people to succeed. This could purely be seen as excusing my inquisitive nature, but without curiosity, human kind would still believe that the sun and moon revolve around the earth.

You only have to ask my best friend or family members to find out that every five minutes I am wondering over the answers of new thought, feeling and question. Because of this, “Just curious” has become one of the most common responses I give.

“Do you think the dog enjoys playing fetch? Or do you think he is secretly mad at you because he just wants to chew his stuffed teddy in peace without someone tantalising him?”….”why?” ….”Just curious”

Although trivial, my obsessive ‘need to know’ is something that is present in most aspects of my life. When Leowenstein branded curiosity “superficial in the sense that it can arise, change focus, or end abruptly”(1994 p.76), he is partially true. However; I believe the notion of curiosity stems dimensions beyond the question of “what do you want for dinner?” and can result in extrinsic benefit. This benefit being the acquisition of intellectual knowledge derived from research.

I am not always reliant on others to answer all of my questions. Most of the time, the person I question most is myself.  What do I want to accomplish with my two degrees? How many countries can I travel to in a six week University break?… I’m curious of what I’m capable of, cultures I’m not native to and people I haven’t met. Through my own experiences, I have come to realise that research is essential to successfully achieve knowledge. In order to feed my curious nature, there is a lot of research that is involved.

I have so much desire to experience new cultures and countries. My first expectation of travel was that I would be stumbling across amazing scenery and culture just by waking up in a new country. However, I was quick to learn that research prior to traveling is so essential because it determines what you can achieve, see and experience in the amount of time you have. You have to obtain prior understanding of the cultures you are immersing yourself in and the expectations they will have upon you as a traveler. This experience enticed my curiosity to travel more, and since researching, my knowledge has further flourished.

So when they say “curiosity killed the cat”, I can affirm that “Satisfaction brought it back”.

References

Loewenstein, G. (1994). The psychology of Curiosity: A Review and Reinterpretation. Psychological Bulletin, 116(1), p.76.

Leave a Reply

